Link Up TV
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
  • X
  • Facebook
  • Soundcloud
Premier League to restart on 17 June!

Premier League to restart on 17 June!

Author: Wardah Sempa | Thursday 28th May 2020

Premier League to restart on 17 June!  Photograph

The Premier League season is set to restart on the 17th of June with Aston Villa v Sheffield United and Manchester City v Arsenal! The matches are the two games in hand. A full fixture list would then be played on the weekend of 19-21 June.

Clubs are still discussing the idea at a meeting on Thursday, but it is understood all have agreed in principle at this stage. There are 92 fixtures still to play. The Premier League was suspended back in March because of the pandemic.

Safety guidelines are yet to be issued by the government and decisions will remain subject to the continuing fight against coronavirus. On Wednesday, clubs unanimously voted to resume contact training, having started non-contact training last week.

So far 12 people have tested positive for coronavirus after 2,752 tests across the league. Premier League players and staff will continue to be tested twice a week, with the capacity increased from 50 to 60 tests per club for the fourth round of testing.